My Life is really in the Garden

Enjoying and sharing the daily discoveries of the beautiful nature that surrounds me in my lovely garden and everywhere else!

D and I went exploring! Oh .. and today is Evan’s Birthday!! Happy 14th to you, Evan!!

Leave a comment

The venerable 17 Mile House Pub ... a visit after many years

The venerable 17 Mile House Pub … a visit after many years

So D and I went exploring awhile ago .. and our first stop was the 17 Mile House.  It’s been very many years since I’ve been there .. I won’t say exactly how many… but it’s been awhile!

 

Happy Birthday dear Evan!!!  14 years old .... Happy Birthday to You!!

Happy Birthday dear Evan!!! 14 years old …. Happy Birthday to You!!

And today .. is Evan’s 14th birthday!  D picked out the most wonderful cake .. covered with rich marzipan and look at the beautiful gold writing on the cake …. yum .. yum … An exciting new year starts today!!!  A magnificent family dinner … with the most amazing cake to celebrate.  Enjoy ….. enjoy … enjoy!!!

Oh, Mr. Duncan, playing the "open the door .. close the door" game that cats love to play

Oh, Mr. Duncan, playing the “open the door .. close the door” game that cats love to play

Mr. Duncan .. oh he is getting to be such a pampered little cat!  And when I took this picture, we were playing the old game of “I want inside” (I open the door) and he runs away.  You know the kind .. So at this point I think we were at round 6 or so .. I really lost count!

Handsome Jada . .what a calm lovely fellow he is!

Handsome Jada . .what a calm lovely fellow he is!

Went shopping a few days ago .. to mail a parcel to my sister .. and when I exited the store/post office .. I met this most handsome dog .. named Jada.  He came from Chicago and is a Cane Corso breed .. an Italian mastiff.    And, as his doggy mom explained to me .. these dogs were used to chase bears long long ago .. and so perhaps that is why his ears were clipped.  Not clipped in Canada, I believe.  (thank goodness).  Anyway, I was so happy to chat and to pet this lovely, calm dog.

Blue skies .. from last week

Blue skies .. from last week

Memories of blue skies of last week .. lovely … lovely

lovely, lovely blue skies

lovely, lovely blue skies

23

Two beautiful dogs in the neighbourhood .. aren't they sweet!!

Two beautiful dogs in the neighbourhood .. aren’t they sweet!!

And a few weeks ago, I was lucky to meet these two handsome doggies!  They politely sat down so that I could take a picture .. but something caught the attention of the golden one.  That’s ok …. they were patient with me as I clicked away.

Our visiting Downy Woodpecker ...

Our visiting Downy Woodpecker …

Happy to see the birds in the yard …

Mr. Sparrow

Mr. Sparrow

19

No worries, little woodpecker .. I have lots of suet for the winter .. nibble away!

No worries, little woodpecker .. I have lots of suet for the winter .. nibble away!

D found this treasure, made in BC!!

D found this treasure, made in BC!!

Just at the beginning of one of our weekly trips around the island .. D found this discarded bird feeder .. I think it fell from a tree that was removed from a yard in the neighbourhood.  She certainly has a knack for finding the most interesting items .. so now it is hanging from a backyard tree .. full of suet for the birds to nibble on.  And much better for it to be in a tree, rather than sadly discarded on the ground.

boo hoo .. cleaned out the car .. summer things now put away .. for a few months!

boo hoo .. cleaned out the car .. summer things now put away .. for a few months!

Finally, I had to accept reality and remove the summer things from the car.   Those lovely summer items that stay in the car during the warm months so they are easy to find when we travel back and forth on the weekends.

A section of the flooring at the 17 Mile

A section of the flooring at the 17 Mile

And here are some of the photos that I took when we visited the 17 Mile House Pub.

Wonderful to savour the unique timelessness of it all.  And the food was delicious!

Funky floor

Funky floor

and I remember these

and I remember these

Don't you just want to sit down and order a meal & a barley sandwich

Don’t you just want to sit down and order a meal & a barley sandwich

11 10 09 08

We both ordered the curried squash soup . yu

We both ordered the curried squash soup . yu

And there is D .. looking mysterious over a mug of java!

And there is D .. looking mysterious over a mug of java!

ha ha .. and our tea and coffee were served in these great mugs!ll

The usual area carpet .. nice though

The usual area carpet .. nice though

Looking out the window ... see the great old truck

Looking out the window … see the great old truck

Comfortable table and chairs nearby

Comfortable table and chairs nearby

Lovely warm fire crackling away

Lovely warm fire crackling away

Well .. that is it .. short and sweet …I’ve been busy making soap.  Then preparing the packaging .. so time is flying!

I would just love to cozy up to that lovely fireplace though, wouldn’t you?  Nice and warm.  Just relax for a while.

🙂

 

 

 

 

Author: thedogwalkinggardener

I love dogs and currently do not have any, so I am a dog-mommy when I can be. Gardening is my passion. I've always loved birds and I'm learning a bit at a time from all the Birders that I meet. Swan Lake is my second home! .

Leave a Reply

